Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

Love that we cannot have is the one that
Lasts the longest,
Hurts the deepest,
And feels the strongest.
— Unknown.

Do you echo the same sentiment?  Do you still wonder why?  I still do…

Today, I was so tempted to use the line “be grateful that it happened despite the hurts…” and the oft-repeated, “it is better to have loved and lost…” to console a weeping friend. But, I restrained myself.

When one NEEDS to let go of the person she wants to spend the rest of her life with, I cannot even imagine using the words “don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”  I will simply let her cry, weep if need be.  For at that very moment, it would be impossible to reconcile love with reason.  If my own heart breaks as I watch her pain, she will know through my eyes that I know what she’s going through.  That I too had been there.

I believe that when no words may be said, it is best to let silence speak.

My dear Arianne, I hope you understood my silence.  There was not much I could say because I too do not understand why two people who love each other best do not always end up growing old together.  Could it be the cruelty of fate? You resolved to work hard at falling out of loveI wonder if your heart meant that.

Years of trying to fall out of love taught me many things about how pure and beautiful love can be.  It taught me that loving does not mean owning.  That true love is not always a smooth journey.  It taught me that it is possible for two people to love each other deeply even if the only thing that binds them are the beautiful memories kept treasured in their hearts.  That letting go is one way of saying I love you.

 

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength,                                           

while loving someone deeply gives you courage.

                                                       – Lao Tzu

3 responses to “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

  1. the moment I read this, I cried silently.

    Despite all the efforts of trying to embrace myself with all the happiness there is, its still just a masquerade.

    I wish I could somehow say “i had been there”. That for one is an acceptance of letting go. However, I cannot say anything, because I too am living in the exact same position. I am trapped between the present (which is momentarily painful…so painful that I cannot do anything about it anymore), I haven’t mastered the art of letting go yet, because I think, it means I am not ready yet to do so.

    Ms. Cris your last line has such a huge impact on me, it made me think gazillion times, because that is definitely correct.

    Silence is a hugger. It is my blanket for tears and an automatic “pat” on the back to cheerfully disguise my inner me, to be able to shout to the world outside how “great” life can be.

    Thanks for the wonderful post. Love is so bizarre, and so are us humans. Complexities of life.

    Like

  2. Hi ma’am… thank you for sharing a part of you with this article. Now I understand yung sad mona lisa smile mo nung kinantahan ka ng “Bakit Ngayon ka Lang.”

    Like

  3. Camille Sto. Domingo Avatar
    Camille Sto. Domingo

    Letting go is one way of saying I love you? How about staying as a way of saying I love you? Pero sabi mo nga NEEDS to let go so hindi na option ang staying. Sob… sob… Hugs, Ms. Cris…

    Like

Leave a comment